Shea Moisture Review

First and foremost, I apologize in lack of posting and publishing articles past few months. It was definitely a crazy year for me! I definitely cannot wait for 2017 to start.

Anyways, I am back! I hope to maintain and expand this blog as much as I can.

I will be documenting my journey finding right skin care regimen for me. I have tried several products over several months. The products are: Proactiv, E.L.F, OSEA, First Aid Beauty and Luminance (my next experiment).

For today, I am going to review on several Shea Moisture products. Shea Moisture is a quite reasonable priced brands that are usually sold in CVS, Walgreens, Ulta, Walmart and Target. Shea Moisture are sold in more licensed retailers across the nation. If you’re curious about the brand, you can go over to their website. They have loads of products for different purposes.

I, however, specifically tried their African Black Soap line because I have ultra sensitive/problem skin. The reviews seems like it really works. I purchased Dandruff Control Shampoo and Conditioner. As well as African Black Soap Problem Skin skincare regimen (face/body bar soap, facial scrub and moisturizer). I also have Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow & Restore Leave In Conditioner to review.

I used the products for two weeks. I saw improvement in my face while using the bar soap, scrub (two times per week) and the moisturizer. I thought it was an excellent product regarding acne and blackheads. However, I don’t see it being helpful with my dry patches and pores. I liked some products and did not like some. I am going to separate the reviews individually.

African Black Soap Problem Skin Facial Wash & Scrub: I thought this was amazing because it exfoliates my skin really well! I found my skin feeling smooth and flakeless after using the product. It smells great. But the only downside is that this is not something you can use everyday. It will dry out your skin if you use this everyday. Some exfoliating scrubs are gentle that you are able to use it everyday but this one, you unfortunately cannot.

African Black Soap Problem Skin Moisturizer: I absolutely hated this product. It was said to be lightweight. It left my skin feeling greasy and heavy. The smell was absolutely unbearable for me. It was pungent. I hate the smell when I open the jar and apply it on my face. It goes away after few seconds. But, I like my skin care products to smell great so it gives me false sense of motivation to keep up with it. So, unfortunately, I will be returning this product back to store.

African Black Soap Problem Skin Face/Bar Soap: I absolutely love love the scent from this soap. It is very unique scent. I enjoy using this because it gives me light wash and leaves my skin feeling light after wash. I don’t recommend this for nightly wash because it does not have its cleaning power to remove all dirt and grime from your day. I recommend this for morning wash because I felt that it gave me a good energy to start off my day. I, however, don’t use this everyday because I have really sensitive skin that attracts loads of sebum and get a monstrous pores. I’d use this product occasionally because I love the scent and it does help my face clear up a little. I kind of wished this came in as liquid cleanser because I kind of hate bar soaps (they seem to be unsanitary to me).

Now, moving on to the Shea Moisture Hair Care. Before anything, I suffer from scalp eczema and seborrheic dermatitis. As I mentioned that my skin is ultra sensitive, I can’t have my face wash touching my hairline/scalp or it will flare up with eczema.

African Black Soap Dandruff Control Shampoo & Conditioner: When I first used it, I loved it. My hair/scalp stopped itching. I was like this is definitely my holy grail now. But after few weeks of using it, dandruff started to build up then eventually flake out bad. The only shampoo that I have found to help with both itching and dandruff is Head & Shoulders. Of course, it is not cruelty-free. Proctor and Gamble are worst with animal testing. I definitely do not want to buy from them anymore. So, unfortunately, I returned both products to the store.

Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow & Restore Leave-In Conditioner: Oh my goodness! Definitely my holy grail for my frizziness! However, my scalp does not react well with this product. It has my sides itchy very little. Not as bad as it used to be. It definitely helped my hair to be more stronger and moisturized. You can not shampoo for two days and still have your hair calm! Amazing!

Bottom line, Shea Moisture is an amazing, cruelty-free brand but their products are hit and miss. You can never know until you try them. It works for many people but some individuals, like me, they don’t. I was devastated to find them not working on me because they are so much cheaper than Oribe (shampoo & conditioner that I currently use). It smells great, gah. Oh well, onto the next product I try with hopes of finding one that works amazing for me and is CRUELTY-FREE!

Go Cruelty Free!

-Nicole

 

Leave a Reply

