Why Research?

I have made a post few days ago about where should you start as you switch to cruelty free products. I have mentioned that you should research every time you discover a product. Brands face different things everyday and sometimes they have to be acquired by a parent company for their own reasons. By doing that, they may lose their 100% cruelty-free status in my dictionary.

Let’s use IT Cosmetics as an example. As you should know that I am no make up artist nor an aspiring MUA. I am just an ordinary person who loves beauty and looks beauty as an art on myself. I enjoy trying new things now as I could see my skill in cosmetics. So, I discovered that I need a finishing powder to set my foundation and I never knew that! Anyways, back to the point, I found a popular and a “must try” IT Cosmetics Finishing Pressed Powder and I got it from a beauty vlogger on YouTube. I was so excited to see that brand being cruelty-free. I checked and made sure that IT Cosmetics was an independent brand. It is listed in CrueltyFreeKitty’s list. I assumed it was 100% cruelty-free. I felt something was off when I saw that IT Cosmetics was coming to Sephora from Ulta. So, I googled more and discovered that IT Cosmetics is recently acquired by L’Oreal. L’Oreal is notorious for their animal testing.

However, IT Cosmetics remains 100% cruelty-free with their products but you will benefit L’Oreal financially if you purchase IT Cosmetics. The definition of 100% cruelty-free is entirely up to you. Some people prefer to still support brands that remains cruelty free under acquisition of a parent company as their way to let them know that they treasure and value their cruelty-free brands more than their brands that is not cruelty-free. As I have already mentioned, I personally prefer to purchase cosmetics directly from a cruelty-free brand without parent company who still tests on animals.

I am currently in search of some cruelty free dupes! Who doesn’t love dupes!! If you have more post or blogging ideas for me, feel free to send me a message!

Leave a Reply

