Switching to Cruelty-Free: Where Do I Start?

First of all, congratulations on making a decision to switching to cruelty-free! It is one of the best decision I made. By going cruelty-free, I found something I am passionate about. I found something that makes my skin heal, my head non-itchy, my face flake free and so many more. Simply because the products I use contains no parabens, harsh chemicals and even better not tested on animals.

Secondly, don’t think going cruelty-free is going to burn your wallet! I was surprised when I learned that there are some drug store brands that are 100% cruelty-free! No need to shoot down your wallet by going to Sephora for higher end cosmetics. Target sells several cruelty-free cosmetics such as Wet N Wild, e.l.f, Essence, NYX (Note: NYX is cruelty free but its parent company not cruelty-free) and some more. You can also go online and view ColourPop as their cosmetics are cruelty free and affordable. There are more drug store brands that are cruelty-free.

Third, do your research. There are some companies that claim to be cruelty-free but are not. I’d recommend you looking into Leaping Bunny or PETA certifications. Leaping Bunny ensures that every suppliers, ingredients and finished products are not tested on animals at all stages of product development and their commitment renewal is annual. The companies must declare their ingredients and suppliers to get Leaping Bunny certified. While, PETA is a list where companies sign a promise that their products were never tested on animals nor will ever be. If you are in doubt, I’d recommend you to trust Leaping Bunny certified products. There are also blogs online that has huge list of brands that are cruelty-free. Such as CrueltyFreeKitty and LogicalHarmony. Those two blogs are my top favorite cruelty-free blogs. Their information are very transparent and throughout. They are also not afraid to out some companies.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

