e.l.f Cosmetics: Cheap but Quality?

I was looking for cruelty-free drug store brands because not everybody can afford higher end cosmetics or beauty products from Sephora, Ulta and all of the sorts. I came across e.l.f cosmetics, which stands for Eyes, Lips and Face. I was blown away by the prices! It is unbelieving cheap! Some of them are priced at a dollar! Where have I been? I always groan at the prices CoverGirl, Revlon, L’Oreal and so on make on their products.

Anyways, I decided to go on their site to see what kind of products they sell and what the reviews were. The reviews seemed so good to me so I decided to give it a try. I ordered a 25 dollars worth batch of cosmetics from e.l.f. for free shipping.

What did I get?

Mineral Infused Mascara

Intense Ink Eyeliner

Make Up Remover Pen

Matte Lip Color in Tea Rose

Matte Lip Color in Natural

Flawless Concealer Brush

Selfie Ready Foundation Brush

Instant Lift Brow Pencil

So,  there are some things I loved and some things I didn’t. Let’s start with Mineral Infused Mascara. The reviews on the site seemed so good to me and I am glad I got this one because it does not make your lashes clump or sticky. Personally, I prefer dark and complete black lashes, this mascara does not give you that. It does not give you thickness and boldness if you wish your mascara to be that way. However, I use this as a base because it separates my lashes individually and adds some length.

Intense Ink Eyeliner: At first, I thought it was horrible because it smudged within few hours. I was looking for something that lasts all day long as well as all night long. But, after several uses, I started to love it. I use it all the time! I go back and forth between Kat Von D’s Ink Liner and this one. Kat Von D Ink Liner has fine felt tip that gives me ability to draw smaller wings. With this, I sometimes like jumbo eyeliner and wings, this is actually perfect pen. It glides across your eye easily. I will be definitely be buying more of this!

Make Up Remover Pen: When I first saw this on the site, I was like this is like the best invention ever because I always have winged eye and that is not easy to make sometimes. I always use maybe 10 q-tips to correct my eyeliner wings. With this, things are more convenient. However, you can’t really reset the make-up remover tip. Once it goes black, you will get it all over on your face.

Matte Lip Color: I got one in Tea Rose and one in Natural because I have way too many dark lipsticks. I love lipsticks, especially matte. Those two was not the best I purchased. I absolutely loved Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick as well few other matte lipsticks. These lipsticks leaves a nice pigment on your lips but they get on everywhere: your hands, your food, your face and etc. But, it is a nice and cheaper option than the ones sold in Sephora. Think if it is worth of investment. For me, lipsticks from Sephora are worth of investment because I wear them all of the time.

Flawless Concealer Brush: I have not owned any other concealer brushes except this one. I cannot compare it to other concealer brushes for now. I thought this brush was really nice and it blends my concealer pretty well. It doesn’t leave streaks or strands of the brushes off on my face.

Selfie Ready Foundation Brush: I thought this brush was wonderful but not as best as my favorite: Kat Von D ones. My Kat Von D foundation brush is more angled and it works wonderful for me. However, this brush spreads foundation over my face really smooth. I use this brush for my BB cream if my face decided to not be happy and starts flaring up eczema. If you are aiming for a reasonable priced brush, go for this one.

Instant Lift Brow Pencil: I only got it because I ought to try glam up my eyebrows. I would much prefer my eyebrows natural. I use the brush end of this pen a lot to trim up my brows. It is a nice pen combination.

Overall, I thought e.l.f. cosmetics is actually pretty good for a drugstore brand with probably the most cheapest prices. There are some things I want to try more with the brand.

Leave a Reply

